“What Would You Do Differently if You Knew You Were Going to Die Tomorrow?”

Is change necessary?

--

Snøhetta, 2286 m. Photo © Øivind H. Solheim

These are the first words in an article on Medium I started to read just now:

What would you do differently if you knew you were going to die tomorrow?

I stopped reading immediately. Not because I am afraid of pursuing that terrible thought: “Die tomorrow”.

If I were to die tomorrow, so what?

Yes: So what? That’s the two terrible words that for me expresses everything around this issue.

If I die tomorrow, I die tomorrow. So what? So why bother? So why spend energy on that issue? Death will occur anyway. Sooner or later. So I don’t care.

I will rather care for life. Just now.

I will care for life. And for the past and the future. That’s what matters. Life. Yes, LIFE!

I will try to do my best to live my life in a decent way. Upright, standing on my two feet as long as possible.

No one knows what comes tomorrow.

We know more or less what happened yesterday, we more or less know what our dream was and is. And we know what our hopes are.

That’s life.

--

--

Øivind H. Solheim - the Novel Author

New novel: The Man Who Stopped Aging, Amazon Kindle. Love story & intellectual investigation: Can we extend human life to 100 or 110? www.oivindhsolheim.com/